skip to Main Content



Australia is located in Earth’s the southern hemisphere. It includes the countries Australia, New Zealand, and Papua New Guinea. Australia is the only continent that is also a country. The country Australia is made up of six states and two territories.

Some of Australia’s animals are poisonous. Platypuses are only found in Australia. They are also one of the only mammals to produce poison. A male platypus has spurs on its back feet. They release poison.

Select an activity below to download the PDF.

Making Connections


There are many different animals in Australia. Would you like to see any of them in real life? Which ones would you like to see?


Have you read another book about Australia? What did you learn?


The aboriginal people of Australia lived there before anyone else. Why do you think it is important to learn about the aboriginal people?

Teacher Resources

Select a resource below to download the PDF.

Back To Top